A lease is a legally binding contractual agreement. It runs for anywhere between 6 months and a year. Within this period, a tenant must uphold all the lease terms, including paying rent whether or not they live there.
In Florida, a tenant may need to break their lease for various reasons including:
Normally, breaking a lease isn’t without penalties. However, there are exceptions to this blanket rule. There are a handful of scenarios that can allow a tenant to break their lease without any penalty.
If your lease has an early termination clause then your tenants might be able to use it to end their lease without facing a penalty. Usually, early termination clauses dictate to tenants what conditions they must meet before moving out.
One of the conditions is proper to notice, typically 30 days. This will give a landlord time to re-advertise the property and find a replacement tenant. The other requirement is a fee. Having to fill a vacancy comes with some costs. For example, the costs of advertising the unit and maintenance. The fee is normally equal to 2 months’ rent.
Is your tenant starting an active military career? Or, have they received deployment or change of station orders and need to relocate? If so, the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act gives them certain protections.
That said, the act requires that the tenant meets certain requirements. The tenant must:
But even with all those conditions met, the lease doesn’t end immediately. The earliest the lease can end is 30 days after the commencement of the next rent period.
The state of Florida defines a servicemember as a member belonging to any of the following:
As a landlord, you have a responsibility to ensure your property is habitable. At the very least, a habitable property has adequate heating, is free from infestation, is structurally sound, and has running water.
If you fail to meet those standards, your tenant could be considered to be “constructively evicted.” Resultantly, having failed to meet your obligations, your tenants would have cause to break their lease.
Your tenant can accuse you of harassment if you create conditions that they feel are meant to encourage them to move out. The following are examples of behaviors you’ll need to avoid:
If you do any of these things, especially repeatedly, you may have a lawsuit to answer. Landlord harassment is a criminal offense that can lead to court action and even imprisonment.
This is another form of landlord harassment. While you have a right of entry, that right must be balanced against your tenant’s right to peace and quiet. In Florida, tenants have a right to a proper notice before a landlord enters.
Unless otherwise agreed upon, you must provide your tenant with a 12 hours notice. The only exception to this is in case of an emergency, if you believe your tenant has abandoned their premises, or if the tenant unreasonably withholds consent.
Common reasons for landlord entry in Florida are as follows:
Your Florida tenant can also break their lease if you violate the terms of the agreement. A good example of a lease violation is illegally raising rent in a fixed-term lease. Usually, unless the lease allows for such a change, you must wait until the lease ends to make any changes to it.
Some reasons for breaking a lease don’t offer protection against penalties. Such reasons are as follows:
Florida landlords aren’t required to mitigate damages. As such, you can leave the unit empty for the remainder of the lease, then hold your tenant liable for all the unpaid rent.
If you would like help managing your rentals contact the experts at Suncastle Properties today!
Disclaimer: This blog isn’t a substitute for professional legal advice from a qualified attorney. Also, laws change, and this post may not be updated at the time you read it. Please get in touch with a licensed attorney if you have questions or need legal assistance.